BACK        NEXT

This stick is made from a hard ebony type wood and is used by the Ruesi as a wand would be used by a wizard. Usually there will be brass or even gold insets and khatas carved on one side.

Mai Kroo (Teacher’s stick)

Say Sin

Say Sin is the thin white cord seen wound around the Sam Nak building. It is said to help channel the spiritual power that the Ruesi will invoke and there may be a circular pattern that overlaps many times. This cord is also used in the magical blessing ceremony, wrapped around the devotee’s head three times and then through the praying hands with the end being held by the Master.

Say Sin can be found in virtually every Buddhist household in Thailand. It is said to ward off unwanted spirits and amplifies the spiritual power of those residing within.

The Yants

Hah Taew (5 lines)


I will begin with this one as it is by far the most popular Yant among foreigners. It is a Yant that encompasses every aspect of one’s life and it is for this reason it is so popular. Anjelina Jolie had this Yant on her shoulder as her first Yant. She has since received more.
The Yant consists of five lines, each line representing a different area of one’s life.

The first row prevents unjust punishment and leans in your favor when the area is grey, cleans out unwanted spirits and protects the place you live in.

The second row reverses and protects against bad horoscope constellations and bad luck.

The third row protects you from the use of black magic and anyone who tries to put a curse on you.

The fourth row energizes your good luck, success and fortune in your future ambitions and life style.

The fifth row is to gain charisma and attraction. It is also is a boost to the fourth row.


The four elements
If you look back a few thousand years, humanity believed that the earth was made up of only four elements, earth, air, fire and water.

For many cultures such as the ancient Greeks, Romans and Incas, the idea that these four elements – earth, water, air, and fire – made up all matter was the cornerstone of philosophy, science, and medicine. The elements were “pure” but could not be found in that state on earth. Every visible thing was made up of some combination of earth, water, air, and fire. The four elements were even used to describe the four temperaments a person could have, and Hippocrates used the four elements to describe the four “humors” found in the body. These theories stated that the temperaments and humors needed to be in balance with each other in order for a person to be well both mentally and physically.)

Indian tradition follows this belief and goes back before the ancient Greeks and the Khmer empire. The Empire was dissolved into what is now known as Thailand and Cambodia.

Buddhism started in India and made its way into the Khmer empire with its yantra designs on cloth etc. Yantra Tattooing was born. Now known as Sak Yant Tattooing. Sak, means to tap (hand poke or as we know it now, Bamboo tattooing) and Yant, derived from the Sanskrit word Yantra, which means, sacred geometrical design and or magical spell/chanting. The fifth element is the lord Buddha. It was described as to praise the Lord Buddha and that’s why there are five lines.
It is believed that when you reach the age of twenty years old, both man or woman, you use the four elements together as a talisman; add a fifth element to increase the element array to worship the lord Buddha. The monks respect natural justice.

Conditions for the bearer (Khor Haam)
There are rules which the Yant bearer must follow. These can vary from master to master, below is a good example of these rules:

Do not kill a person with intent.

Do not steal for own personal gain.

Do not lie to harm others. We all tell white lies and there is a difference.

Do not have sexual relations with another’s partner.

Do not spit in the toilet. The toilet should be a clean place and not to keep it so, shows disrespect to oneself and others.

Do not swear at or disrespect your parents in any way.

Do not speak about people behind their back in a manner likely to cause


Do not over consume alcohol and become troublesome to others. Keep in control.

Do not walk under female underwear. The reason for this is to avoid temptations and distractions that the opposite sex can bring. Monks themselves are not allowed to touch a woman’s skin for this very reason and when a monk tattoos a female, he will wear surgical gloves.

Do not partake in evil deeds. Avoid all contact with such happenings whenever possible.

The above rules are quite basic for all people who wish to be good and for the bearer of a Yant tattoo, they must be followed at all times. Therefore having a Sak Yant tattoo is not something that should be entered into lightly.

Gao Yord (nine spires)


Gao Yord means nine spires and is normally the first Sak Yant design that is given to a follower of a Sak Yant master. The number 9 is an important number in Buddhism. There is another name for it, Yant Kroo which means master or teacher Yant. Having the Goa Yord allows you to enter the lineage of the masters that have been before, of which you have become a disciple.

This is regarded as a powerful Yant and will protect you in many ways. The Khata or Akara can be a combination of the script inside the squares which is only known to the original masters. The Gao Yord represents the nine different Buddha’s.


Twenty nine Yord for a Bangkok Ink customer.

Usually there will be a horizontal line of a Mantra or Akara in Khom script. This script is older than Khmer script and the characters are abbreviations. The centre of the Yant is a series of small boxes. The number and size of these boxes can vary from Master to Master. Inside each square there is a character that is an abbreviation for a particular spell and mostly the Gao Yord will offer the following:

Maetda Maha Niyom: Will offer the bearer compassion and kindness in their dealings with others. This will increase popularity and others will be easily influenced by you.

Maha Amnat: This offers the bearer power and authority in dealing with others.

Awk Seuk: This will enable the bearer to fight adversity and to always fight for correct and noble reasons.

Oopathae: This offers the bearer a smooth path in business activities.

Kong Khra Pan: This offers the bearer magical powers of invincibility.

Maha Lap: This will offer the bearer good fortune.

Bong Kan Antarai: This will offer the bearer protection against natural disasters, accidents and acts of violence toward the bearer.

Natee Gan Gnan Dee: This will offer the bearer favorable circumstances in their work.

Bong Kan Win Yan Chua Rai: This will offer the bearer protection against unwanted spirits.

BACK        NEXT


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *